Siqa ni Sucu

The week before last I celebrated my 24th birthday… it arrived so quickly, I can’t believe it’s already March!

The day came and went without much fuss.  I actually forgot it was my birthday until I mentally noted what a beautiful day it was, and had the pressing feeling that it was a good day for another reason that I was forgetting…!  I spent the day in Nasau at the Community Health Worker training for Koro Island nasi ni koros (village nurse), so I was unfortunately away from Nabasovi.  Birthdays are not typically a big deal here, but my family and friends in the village were hoping to celebrate with me on my birthday- even if that just meant a few bowls of kava!

Birthday #24 was celebrated at Luigi’s house after a long day of training.  No birthday song, no cake, but as luck would have it, I happened to receive 2 packages that day.  I therefore celebrated by watching Modern Family (Lui has electricity, so that was a gift enough!) while enjoying chocolate covered espresso beans and a cup of Bailey’s hot chocolate.  While it was not my typical celebratory sushi dinner followed by a Leddy’s bakery cake, chocolate, Bailey’s AND movies in one night is one heck of a birthday for Fiji!

The week after my birthday I was surprised with a belated birthday celebration by my Girl Guides.  They had prepared several lovely songs and the most beautiful hand made birthday gifts.  I didn’t expect any mention of my birthday, never mind an afternoon of songs and gifts!  I feel so humbled by how thoughtful and generous these girls are.

All in all, it was a nice lesson to have my birthday come and go without much ado.  I think sometimes in America I get too caught up with having “my” day be the most special day, and it’s a total let down when it’s anything less than spectacular.  (How lame is that?!) This year I simply feel blessed to be where I am, physically and metaphorically.  I have friends and family back at home that miss me and make me feel loved, I feel at home and safe here in Fiji, and I’m beginning some work that I’m passionate about.  There’s truly nothing else that I could want to begin a new year of life with!  Another year older, and hopefully a bit wiser, one thing is for sure– I’m certain my 24th spin around the sun will be a good one 🙂

My awesome homemade birthday gifts: a fan, printed masi, and a jewelry set made of Fijian clay beads.  I couldn't have asked for more awesome gifts!
Have to show off my beautiful homemade birthday gifts: a fan, printed masi, and a jewelry set made of Fijian clay beads. I couldn’t have asked for more awesome gifts!
Nabasovi District School Girl Guides, singing me a birthday song!
Nabasovi District School Girl Guides, singing me a birthday song!
Leave a Reply

