A little bit of this, a little bit of that: pictures of my new home

Front view of my house, "Vale Davui"
Front view of my house, “Vale Davui”
Pigs run around free all over Koro
Pigs run around free all over Koro
I wish a picture could actually capture how truly AWESOME the roots of the Ivi tree are!! I try :)
I wish a picture could actually capture how truly AWESOME the roots of the Ivi tree are!! I try πŸ™‚
Thought this was too cool! Some cool stuff growing here in the "bush"
Thought this was too cool! Some cool stuff growing here in the “bush”
A view of the road, where I run in the morning!
A view of the road, where I run in the morning!
Cleaning up after a big feast
Cleaning up after a big feast
a few of my many grandmothers here in Nabasovi
a few of my many grandmothers here in Nabasovi
raking and collecting fallen leaves in non-stop work- it takes a lot of kids to keep the village clean!
raking and collecting fallen leaves in non-stop work- it takes a lot of kids to keep the village clean!
chicken-proof fence
chicken-proof fence
my kale and cabbage is growing, and my mouth is watering :)
my kale and cabbage are growing, and my mouth is watering πŸ™‚
View south from my house
View south from my house
Nabasovi
Nabasovi
Back view of my humble abode :)
Back view of my humble abode πŸ™‚
Breadfruit Tree
Breadfruit Tree
CHICKENS, my worst nightmare.
CHICKENS, my worst nightmare.
Community Hall in the background- where we gather for tea, meetings, kava, etc.
Community Hall in the background- where we gather for tea, meetings, kava, etc.
Ta levu and blackie, having an afternoon rest beneath the mango tree
Ta levu and blackie, having an afternoon rest beneath the mango tree
The entrance to Nabasovi- the yellow truck is the "carrier", one of the few ways to get around the island (for a hefty price).  It also brings the kids from other villages to school here.
The entrance to Nabasovi- the yellow truck is the “carrier”, one of the few ways to get around the island (for a hefty price). It also brings the kids from other villages to school here.
Vale nei Lotu (Church), where I spend at least two hours ever Sunday morning.
Vale nei Lotu (Church), where I spend at least two hours ever Sunday morning. Β Here kids are playing beneath the mango tree, waiting for some to be picked.
My dirty feet and silly cat post-gardening :)
My dirty feet and silly cat post-gardening πŸ™‚
Of course I broke my class coffee press- improvising with what I have!
Of course I broke my class coffee press- improvising with what I have!
Getting a laundry system down: soak, dump in sink 1, scrub in sink 2, then two part rinsing to get all the cleaning chemicals out of my clothes!
Getting a laundry system down: soak, dump in sink 1, scrub in sink 2, then two part rinsing to get all the cleaning chemicals out of my clothes!
How beautiful are mangos?!
How beautiful are mangos?!
Trying to figure out what to do with the fish that Na Levu dropped off...
Trying to figure out what to do with the fish that Na Levu dropped off…
Na! My mom here in the village :) She's absolutely wonderful.
Na! My mom here in the village πŸ™‚ She’s absolutely wonderful.
Some friends and drying yaqona in the sunshine.
Some friends and drying yaqona in the sunshine.
Eating mangos is a constant state here- if you aren't holding a mango, someone will make sure you get one soon enough!
Eating mangos is a constant state here- if you aren’t holding a mango, someone will make sure you get one soon enough!
Na levu and company, sitting beneath the breadfruit tree.  People often sit on this bench and call to me when I'm in my kitchen.
Na levu and company, sitting beneath the breadfruit tree. People often sit on this bench and call to me when I’m in my kitchen.
Pretty sweet tree by the sea in Nabasovi
Pretty sweet tree by the sea in Nabasovi

FSCN1524

Kids will make games out of just about anything!
Kids will make games out of just about anything!
My littlest friend here, Eremasi.  He is basically my shadow, and our language level is quite compatible.
My littlest friend here, Eremasi. He is basically my shadow, and our language level is quite compatible.
On my way to work, plenty of water to get me to lunch.
On my way to work, plenty of water to get me to lunch.
Nabasovi District School with the mountains, aka "Mocea", in the background.
Nabasovi District School with the mountains, aka “Mocea”, in the background.
Na levu dropped off a bunch of prawns for my lunch- I had to get a picture!  Wish it were better, but using self-timer is a pain.  They were delicious :)
Na levu dropped off a bunch of prawns for my lunch- I had to get a picture! Wish it were better, but using self-timer is a pain. They were delicious πŸ™‚
2 thoughts on “A little bit of this, a little bit of that: pictures of my new home

  1. Love the pics! You look so beautiful and happy. And kitty piglet is so cute! She can’t wait to meet me! Im going to kiss her spotted nose and make her sneeze πŸ˜‰ lol. Love you xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

